Steps to Delete a SharePoint Site


Below are the tl;dr steps to delete a SharePoint Site using screenshots.

  1. Login to your SharePoint Admin Center: https://tenant-admin.sharepoint.com
  2. Now from the sidebar select Sites > Active Sites
    Share Point admin center - Sites - Active Sites
  3. You can filter your sites based on the below options.
    - All sites
    - Sites connected to Teams
    - Microsoft 365 group sites
    - Sites without a group
    - Classic sites
    - Largest sites
    - Least active sites
    - Most popular shared sites

    Or you can use the search option to filter.

  4. Select the site(s) that you want to delete and choose - "Delete"
    SharePoint Move to Deleted sites
  5. You will see a warning message:

    This site belongs to a Microsoft 365 group. Deleting the site will delete the group and all its resources, including the Outlook mailbox and calendar, and any Teams channels. You will have 30 days to restore the group.

    Click on the Delete button.

  6. Finally you will see a message: Site‎ was deleted
SharePoint Site Was Deleted

You can restore this deleted site from sidebar Sites > Deleted sites option.


This is not an AI-generated article but is demonstrated by a human with a Microsoft 365 Business account on a M1 Mac running macOS Sonoma 14.0.

Please support independent contributors like Code2care by donating a coffee.

Buy me a coffee!

Buy Code2care a Coffee!
-

Facing issues? Have Questions? Post them here! I am happy to answer!


Author Info:

Rakesh (He/Him) is a seasoned developer with over 10 years of experience in web and app development, and a deep knowledge of operating systems. Author of insightful How-To articles for Code2care.

Follow him on: X

You can also reach out to him via e-mail: rakesh@code2care.org

Copyright © Code2care 2024 | Privacy Policy | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap